The Bells of St Peter's Church - St Peter's Society of Change Ringers

A unique pewter ringers' flagon dated 1676, formerly used by the ringers, is now kept in the Dorset County Museum, next to the church. The flagon, which was restored in 1932, is fifteen inches high, weighs ten and a half pounds and holds approximately one and a quarter gallons. The inscription on the front is as follows:

Feb. 7th: 1676. The gift of Edward Lester wch is to remaine for ye use of ye ringers of Dorchestr for ever. St Peter.

Images of flagon and inscription © Dorset County Museum 2005 reproduced by kind permission

The Society is affiliated to the Salisbury Diocesan Guild of Ringers, and to the Dorset County Association of Church Bell Ringers, both of which exist to foster the science and art of Change Ringing. We are always keen to welcome new members, either experienced ringers, or those who may be willing to learn how to ring, and participate in an enjoyable pastime. If you may be interested, please get in touch with the Tower Captain, or the Tower Secretary, who are listed on the St. Peter's Church Page

Gargoyle commemorating the late Richard Duke, Master of the Society for many years.

From time to time, Ringers' Sunday is celebrated on the Sunday in September closest to the 21st, when the Tenor was cast in 1734. On this day, the congregation has the rare opportunity to visit the ringing chamber, see the bells, and enjoy the magnificent view from the top of the tower. This view can also be seen on the occasion of the early-morning Ascension Day service.